No Players Elected To Hall Of Fame (

| at

There were no players who received the 75 percent vote threshold necessary for election into the Hall of Fame. Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds, and Roger Clemens came closest to achieving the necessary vote total, but they ultimately fell short. Schilling came the closest with 71.1% of the vote (16 votes shy), while Scott Rolen saw the biggest year-over-year jump. There were 14 blank ballots. With less than five percent of the vote, Aramis Ramirez, LaTroy Hawkins, Barry Zito, A.J. Burnett, Michael Cuddyer, Dan Haren, Nick Swisher, and Shane Victorino will fall off the ballot. The full results are here.

Controversy surrounded this year’s ballot in particular because it was considered a weaker overall class of first-time nominees. That meant that the holdovers took center stage, a group largely comprised of players with character issues and controversy at the heart of their Hall of Fame cases, namely Schilling, Bonds, Clemens, and Omar Vizquel. For Schilling’s part, in a letter that he wrote to the Hall of Fame (and later shared on Facebook), he has requested that his name be removed from the ballot next season. Ken Rosenthal of MLB Network reports that he does not have the ability to simply remove his name from the list, nor does the Hall of Fame – though the Hall of Fame committee responded to say they would consider Schilling’s request.

The induction ceremony will still take place on July 25, 2021. Last year’s induction ceremony was postponed because of the pandemic, so last year’s class of Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons and the late Marvin Miller will hopefully be inducted during that July ceremony, though much still hangs in the balance as far as the pandemic is concerned.

Source link